The Saga Of Davi Rhii

Read Excerpts from my debut novel "The Worker Prince." A Barnes & Noble Book Club's Years Best SF 2011, Honorable Mention
Click here -- for full info

Book 2, THE RETURNING is here!!!!
Click here -- for full info

Editorial Services

Great editing helps sell books! Let me help you! For more click: Click here

"I found many of his suggestions invaluable and I am confident that my manuscript is better since he edited and critiqued it for me.” ~ Ellen C. Maze, author

#sffwrtcht

Upcoming guests on #sffwrtcht

5/07/14—Doug Hulick
5/14/14—Ben Bova
5/21/14—Jodi McIsaac
5/28/14— Elizabeth Moon
6/04/14—Paul Goat Allen
6/11/14—Gail Z. Martin
6/18/14—Greg Van Eekhout
6/25/14—Kevin J. Anderson
7/02/14—Scott Lynch
7/09/14—Kat Richardson

There are many decisions one makes when writing fiction. One of the most important is the choice of POV character and whether it’s first person or third. Often, when dealing with multiple POV characters, the choice is based on who has the most to lose or gain in a particular scene. But sometimes other factors  [ Read More ]

Categories: Write Tips

When I went to screenwriting school, the key thing they taught us about writing scenes was to enter a scene as late as possible and get out as soon as possible after that. Forget the niceties. None of this:   Bob walked in the room to find Guy sitting on the couch, chilling. “Hey, dude,  [ Read More ]

Categories: General, Write Tips

A lot of readers are curious after reading books about where the idea came from. So I thought I’d share with you here a bit about the story of “The Worker Prince, Book 1 of The Saga Of Davi Rhii.” I have stated often that the genesis occurred when I was 15 years old. I  [ Read More ]

Categories: General

I got criticized once that my writing style uses simpler words.  Why not show off your vocabularly or use more sophisticated verbage, they asked.  My answer:  I’m writing for a wide age group, and vocabulary is only useful if it adds to understanding, not if it takes away from it. For example, my friend, a  [ Read More ]

Categories: General

It’s been too long since I posted something helpful for writers.  I really do intend to do that more often here, but as life around me is chaotic, so goes my blogging and everything else.  So if you found the previous posts helpful and were waiting, sincerest apologies.  I hope I haven’t chased you off.  [ Read More ]

Categories: General

Sometimes I feel like a science fiction oddball. The stories I like most and like to write are good old fashioned space opera, like Star Wars or Star Trek, and sword & sorcery like Legend Of the Seeker, or high fantasy like Lord Of The Rings, etc. I don’t like slipstream. I don’t like stories  [ Read More ]

Categories: General

This is the first chapter of my forthcoming science fiction novel The Worker Prince. It’s a space opera in the vein of Star Wars and Star Trek. If you enjoy it, please spread the word. Prologue Sol climbed to the top of the rise and stared up at the twin suns making their daily ascension.  [ Read More ]

Categories: General

I think one of the hardest parts of being a writer is the waiting. You wait to hear back on submissions, wait to hear back from beta readers, wait for checks to arrive, wait for books to arrive, etc. And if you’re anything like me, waiting is probably not your forté. So what do you  [ Read More ]

Categories: General

After almost a year, nine drafts, two independent editors, a series of beta readers, two critique groups, and a few rejections, I was tired of looking at the word file that was my novel’s manuscript. I still believed in the story and characters and felt good about my writing though. Both the professional editors I’d  [ Read More ]

Categories: General, Write Tips

For some reason, it’s been like pulling teeth to get myself to sit down and write lately. I’ve managed to write a few scenes for the fantasy novel. I managed to write an outline for a new scifi novel I’m excited to start. But it’s been two months now I’ve been trying to finish this  [ Read More ]

Categories: General

“No man knows how bad he is till he has tried very hard to be good. A silly idea is current that good people do not know what temptation means. This is an obvious lie. Only those who try to resist temptation know how strong it is. After all, you find out the strength of  [ Read More ]

Categories: General

I’ve had a love affair with science fiction and fantasy since grade school. I will never forget the time my cousins dragged us to this film with the weird name “Star Wars.” Even at age 8, I was sure the title sounded dumb, but my cousin and best buddy, David, had seen the film several  [ Read More ]

Categories: General
  • RSS
  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linkedin

From my blog...

Guest Post: Your...

Since I am doing a guest Write Tip ...

An Alternative To...

I respect George R.R. Martin as a writer. ...

Write Tip: 12...

I've spent a lot of time studying and ...

Genre Favorites Blogfest:...

Well today my friend Alex Cavanaugh is hosting: Genre ...

The Importance Of...

My friend and fellow editor Kat Heckenbach asked ...

Twitter updates

No public Twitter messages.