The Saga Of Davi Rhii

Read Excerpts from my debut novel "The Worker Prince." A Barnes & Noble Book Club's Years Best SF 2011, Honorable Mention
Click here -- for full info

Book 2, THE RETURNING is here!!!!
Click here -- for full info

Editorial Services

Great editing helps sell books! Let me help you! For more click: Click here

"I found many of his suggestions invaluable and I am confident that my manuscript is better since he edited and critiqued it for me.” ~ Ellen C. Maze, author

#sffwrtcht

Upcoming guests on #sffwrtcht

5/07/14—Doug Hulick
5/14/14—Ben Bova
5/21/14—Jodi McIsaac
5/28/14— Elizabeth Moon
6/04/14—Paul Goat Allen
6/11/14—Gail Z. Martin
6/18/14—Greg Van Eekhout
6/25/14—Kevin J. Anderson
7/02/14—Scott Lynch
7/09/14—Kat Richardson

Reviews with links, followed by Blurbs

Reviews:

New 4-star review from K.M. Weiland of SPACE BATTLES: http://www.amazon.com/review/R2JLXTIFZSP2QQ/?_encoding=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&linkCode=ur2&tag=httpwwwkmweil-20

A new 5-star review of Space Battles: Full Throttle Space Tales 6: http://www.goodreads.com/review/show/426472373

A 5 Frodos (stars) review for Space Battles: Full Throttle Space Tales 6 http://frodosco.wordpress.com/2012/10/02/review-full-throttle-space-tales-6-space-battles/

Bookworm Blues revisits The Worker Prince and gives it 3.5 stars http://www.bookwormblues.net/2012/09/17/re-review-the-worker-prince-bryan-thomas-schmidt/

A new 4-star Amazon review for The Worker Princehttp://bryanthomasschmidt.net/2012/08/24/new-4-star-amazon-review-for-the-worker-prince/

http://www.goodreads.com/review/show/379124828 A 5-star Goodreads review.

Another review for Space Battles: Full Throttle Space Tales #6 . This one 5 stars: http://www.examiner.com/review/review-space-battles-full-throttle-space-tales-6

Functional Nerds’ Catherine Russell reviews The Returninghttp://functionalnerds.com/2012/06/review-the-returning-by-bryan-thomas-schmidt/

Another review for Space Battles: Full Throttle Space Tales #6 also came in from Bookworm Blues: http://www.bookwormblues.net/2012/06/04/space-battles-edited-by-bryan-thomas-schmidt/

Odd Engine review: “Reading The Returning is like a splash of cool water, bringing back the nostalgia and feel of a Star Wars-like universe that instills the passion from my childhood.” 4 stars. Read the full review here: http://oddengine.wordpress.com/2012/06/04/review-the-returning-by-bryan-thomas-schmidt/

Third review for Space Battles: Full Throttle Space Tales #6 is in: http://fmwpodcast.com/webpage/book-review-space-battles-edited-by-bryan-thomas-schmidt

Reviews for The Returning, Saga of Davi Rhii Book 2,  are now starting to appear. Here’s one:
http://vantiltool.blogspot.com/2012/05/bryan-thomas-schmidt-publishes-second_02.html

Second review for Space Battles: Full Throttle Space Tales #6 is in:
http://readersrealm1.wordpress.com/2012/04/24/space-battles-full-throttle-space-tales-6/

The first review for Space Battles: Full Throttle Space Tales #6 is in from Odd Engine: http://oddengine.wordpress.com/2012/04/17/review-space-battles-anthology/

The Worker Prince made “Honorable Mention” on Barnes & Noble reviewer Paul Goat Allen’s Best SF Releases Of 2011

Reviews of The Worker Prince are now coming out. Find them here:

http://vantiltool.blogspot.com/2012/02/space-age-moses-featured-in-bryan.html (no star rating given but looks like a 5 to me)

http://www.garywolson.com/blog/viewpost/88 5 star review

http://raymondmasters.wordpress.com/2011/10/21/book-review-the-worker-prince-by-bryan-thomas-schmidt/ 4.5 stars

http://functionalnerds.com/2011/12/review-the-worker-prince-by-bryan-thomas-schmidt/ Catherine Russell at Functional  Nerds with a 4 star review

http://thenerdeye.net/2012/02/book-review-worker-prince-by-bryan.html Ben Love with a 4 star review

http://dragonlotsma.blogspot.com/2011/07/why-not-question-book-review-worker.html 4 stars

http://www.goodreads.com/review/show/200578646 4 stars

http://jaletaclegg.blogspot.com/2011/10/thursday-special-book-review-worker.html 4 stars

http://blog.rlcopple.com/?p=521 4 stars

http://www.examiner.com/book-in-ann-arbor/review-the-worker-prince-review?render=print#print 4 stars

http://bryanthomasschmidt.net/2011/10/30/apex-reviews-the-worker-prince-4-star-review/ 4 stars

http://blogginoutloud.blogspot.com/2011/10/review-of-worker-prince.html

http://www.sfsignal.com/archives/2012/01/review-the-worker-prince-by-bryan-thomas-schmidt/comment-page-1/#comment-98494
Blurbs:

“Bryan Thomas Schmidt’s “The Worker Prince” will appeal to readers of all ages. Bryan deftly explores a world where those who believe in one God labor against oppressors, and a single man may have the power to change their situation for the better. But will he be able to rise above all that his powerful uncle has taught him?” — Brenda Cooper, Author of The Silver Ship and the Sea and Mayan December

“If your reader’s heart longs for the Golden Age of Science Fiction–when good was good and bad was bad, and great characters fought against universal odds–then The Worker Prince is for you. Good, retro fun for the whole family.”Jason Sanford (author of Never Never Stories and Interzone contributor)

“I found myself thinking of stories that I read during my (misspent) youth, including Heinlein juveniles and the Jason January tales, as well as Star Trek and Star Wars.” 
— Redstone SF on “The Worker Prince” series (Book 1 forthcoming, October 4,  2011, Diminished Media)

“In The Worker Prince, Bryan Thomas Schmidt combines elements from the Biblical story of Moses with exciting outer space action to create a satisfying hero’s journey that is well worth taking.”   David Lee Summers, Author of The Solar Sea/Editor of Tales Of The Talisman.

“Bryan Thomas Schmidt’s love for Science Fiction comes through on every page.  The Worker Prince is fun for any age.” — Maurice Broaddus, Author of The Knights Of Breton Court and King’s Justice.

“A thoroughly enjoyable science fiction adventure epic. I’m looking forward to the next book!” Jaleta Clegg, Author of Nexus Point and Autumn Visions.

“A significant new author in the field of space opera – Bryan is a fresh new imagination to watch out for!” — Grace Bridges, author of Faith Awakened and Legendary Space Pilgrims

“Retro-with-a-twist SF brimming with an infectious enthusiasm!”  Saladin Ahmed, author Throne Of the Crescent Moon (forthcoming)

Latest review  of The North Star Serial, Part 1 from author/editor Dana Bell:

‘Why Not Question’ – Book Review – ‘The North Star Serial Part 1′ by Bryan Thomas Schmidt

If you enjoy Space Opera then I highly recommend ‘The North Star Serial Part 1′ by Bryan Thomas Schmidt. Captain Janaai Resnick takes command of the Destroyer North Star and begins her military career. The fight against a race called the Korleans who feel that ancient missionaries wronged them and tried to destroy their culture. Included as part of the series of short stories are those about the enemy themselves and their motivations in the war they began.Most moving are two stories ‘The Orphaning’ and ‘The Scout’ since they depict a massacre and the real life reaction of someone who lost his entire family -rather than the typical ‘I forgive you’ unrealistic depiction often used in Christian fiction. Kudos for the writer being brave enough to deflect away from tradition and show how a person, Christian or not, would behave because of such a loss.Also included are the first chapter of two novels, ‘The Worker Prince’ which has been sold to a publisher and ‘The Sandman’. Both show great promise as Christian Science Fiction and the blogger urges fans of this genre to carefully watch Bryan Thomas Schmidt as an up and coming writer.

 

Amazon review: 5.0 out of 5 stars — A Space Opera You Can Believe In, September 26, 2010

North Star Captain Janaai Resnick has her hands full in this first installment of the North Star Serial. Not only does she have to prove herself to her crew, but also as soon as they head out, she must prove herself a capable leader when the ship is attacked by the Korelean threat. I liked that many of the characters were Christian, which made the story more believable for me–the world is peopled with folks of faith, so why not depict this in our books and movies?

Author Bryan Thomas Schmidt creates for us a likable and believable female lead that is supported by a cast as three-dimensional as those at the helm of the Star Trek series. With snappy dialogue and genre-correct technology, I think anyone who enjoys the space opera will put this one at the top of their list. I don’t usually read this genre, and I was pleasantly surprised at how fun it was.

As a bonus, at the end of this tale, Schmidt includes novel excerpts from a couple of his upcoming works, THE WORKER PRINCE and SANDMAN.

~Ellen C Maze
Author of Curiously Spiritual Vampire Tales

 

Goodreads review: 4 of 5 stars — May 27, 2010

I really liked Part I of the North Star Serial. I am looking forward to further adventures of CAPT Janaai Resnick and her crew against the Korelean forces. This is a good sci-fi book that keeps the unnecessary subjects of sex and vulgar language out of the space battle storyline. The book is clean, wholesome fun that I know my 10-year old son will really enjoy and he is one of those that does not like to read.

I really liked Part I of the North Star Serial. I am looking forward to further adventures of CAPT Janaai Resnick and her crew against the Korelean forces. This is a good sci-fi book that keeps the unnecessary subjects of sex and vulgar language out of the space battle storyline. The book is clean, wholesome fun that I know my 10-year old son will really enjoy and he is one of those that does not like to read.

The Koreleans have a deep hatred for Christians who have colonized the galaxy after escaping persecution on Earth. CAPT Resnick has just been given command of NORTH STAR, a destroyer in the Coalition Command fleet. While on her first assignment she comes into contact with Koreleans forces and thus the war begins. Many themes are at play here and the storyline is solid. I want to follow the story a find out what happens to the entire crew in future parts of The North Star Serial.

I also really enjoyed the excerpts from both The Worker Prince and Sandman. I will keep my eyes open for these novels as I am certin that they reach bookstands

I received this book for free through Goodreads First Reads giveaway program. Thanks to Bryan for making this book available in the giveaway program. These first 13 NORTH STAR Serial stories are the start of a great adventure!

~Chad, Saint Louis

 

  • RSS
  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linkedin

From my blog...

Guest Post: Your...

Since I am doing a guest Write Tip ...

An Alternative To...

I respect George R.R. Martin as a writer. ...

Write Tip: 12...

I've spent a lot of time studying and ...

Genre Favorites Blogfest:...

Well today my friend Alex Cavanaugh is hosting: Genre ...

The Importance Of...

My friend and fellow editor Kat Heckenbach asked ...

Twitter updates

No public Twitter messages.